Blog

Distance Learning

The topic of online learning has interested me a lot, on a few different levels. For one, as a student: would it be effective for me as an individual? Another, as a potential future teacher: what would the differences be from teaching a course in person? Of course, there's a third angle as a web development professional: what web-based tools would most aid the process, and have they been developed yet? As a student, I personally have some doubts. One thing that I have learned about myself over the years is that if I show up for class, I tend to learn the material (even if I end up being too busy to read the chapter beforehand). I think it is the in-person discussion and lecture that facilitates this. On the other hand, there are plenty of things that I've taught myself using online materials. I have taken only one official course where there was a distance learning component, but I'm not so sure I learned much about distance learning from the experience. Almost half of the classes were in-person. It was definitely nice, not having to be anywhere for those nights, and being able to work on my own time schedule. I did notice that it was a bit difficult to connect faces with names, which was frustrating. Additionally, the software that was used to facilitate the online portion of the class (primarily "forum" based discussions on the chapters) was somewhat slow and clunky-feeling. Overall, however, my experience with the course was fine... the negatives and the positives seemed to balance out somewhat, and the professor was excellent. I'm not sure that the online portion of that class added anything, however. I think as a professor, I would be intrigued by teaching an online course. A friend of mine has been doing just that, and hearing about his experiences with it have been really interesting. A strategy that seems to have worked well for his classes is to be very responsive and available as an online professor. This makes sense... if there is distance involved, one way to make up for the difficulties inherent in distance is to appear as available as possible. One way that this is best accomplished, I think, is through video software. Although I have not participated in any online courses with a video component, I have attended a few webinars, and had very good experiences. It seems as though a really great way to handle an online course would be through a live recorded webinar format. The live portion could incorporate questions and answers between student and professors, and the recorded portion could be for later notes and any students who couldn't attend the live session. Overall, I think distance learning has a lot of hurdles to get through. I also don't think it's necessarily for everyone, but for some, it has a lot of potential.

Posted by on Tue, 13 Apr 2010
tags:


Comments

198 comments

  1. LisaLOB Thu, 21 Oct 2021

  2. Jzbaxc Wed, 20 Oct 2021

  3. LisaLOB Wed, 20 Oct 2021

  4. MaryLOB Tue, 19 Oct 2021

  5. Wqkmhq Tue, 19 Oct 2021

  6. IvyLOB Tue, 19 Oct 2021

  7. JoeLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  8. YonLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  9. KimLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  10. TeoLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  11. Vrkksh Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  12. MiaLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  13. AnnaLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  14. NickLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  15. PaulLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  16. EvaLOB Mon, 18 Oct 2021

  17. JimLOB Sun, 17 Oct 2021

  18. TedLOB Sun, 17 Oct 2021

  19. YonLOB Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  20. KiaLOB Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  21. MaryLOB Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  22. MarkLOB Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  23. EvaLOB Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  24. TeoLOB Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  25. JaneLOB Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  26. PaulLOB Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  27. Ditucm Sat, 16 Oct 2021

  28. YonLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  29. TedLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  30. MarkLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  31. LisaLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  32. JoeLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  33. PaulLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  34. JackLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  35. NickLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  36. KiaLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  37. EvaLOB Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  38. Oqboog Fri, 15 Oct 2021

  39. IvyLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  40. JimLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  41. DenLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  42. JaneLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  43. SamLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  44. JaneLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  45. SueLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  46. TedLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  47. KiaLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  48. JoeLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  49. YonLOB Thu, 14 Oct 2021

  50. PaulLOB Wed, 13 Oct 2021

  51. NickLOB Wed, 13 Oct 2021

  52. KimLOB Wed, 13 Oct 2021

  53. Gtwdnl Wed, 13 Oct 2021

  54. EyeLOB Wed, 13 Oct 2021

  55. TeoLOB Wed, 13 Oct 2021

  56. AnnaLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  57. SamLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  58. YonLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  59. ZakLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  60. Dtgyto Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  61. DenLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  62. MarkLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  63. EvaLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  64. CarlLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  65. KiaLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  66. IvyLOB Tue, 12 Oct 2021

  67. SueLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  68. YonLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  69. TeoLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  70. NickLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  71. KimLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  72. JimLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  73. ZakLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  74. KimLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  75. BooLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  76. MiaLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  77. EvaLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  78. JoeLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  79. Hvehrt Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  80. AmyLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  81. JasonLOB Mon, 11 Oct 2021

  82. JackLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  83. MaryLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  84. AnnaLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  85. AmyLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  86. JimLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  87. AlanLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  88. KiaLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  89. IvyLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  90. MarkLOB Sun, 10 Oct 2021

  91. YonLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  92. JudyLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  93. TedLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  94. AmyLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  95. JoeLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  96. SueLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  97. AshLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  98. JackLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  99. Fratqn Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  100. EvaLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  101. NickLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  102. MiaLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  103. JaneLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  104. KimLOB Sat, 9 Oct 2021

  105. MaryLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  106. UgoLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  107. TeoLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  108. CarlLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  109. EyeLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  110. LisaLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  111. DenLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  112. JimLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  113. ZakLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  114. NickLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  115. KiaLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  116. BooLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  117. AnnaLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  118. AlanLOB Fri, 8 Oct 2021

  119. Kzsuuc Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  120. JimLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  121. EvaLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  122. JoeLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  123. WimLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  124. AmyLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  125. YonLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  126. MiaLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  127. JackLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  128. JasonLOB Thu, 7 Oct 2021

  129. TeoLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  130. MarkLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  131. Uuslns Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  132. CarlLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  133. SamLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  134. AshLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  135. SueLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  136. TedLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  137. EvaLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  138. SamLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  139. JaneLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  140. JudyLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  141. AmyLOB Wed, 6 Oct 2021

  142. ZakLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  143. KiaLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  144. Njfrmi Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  145. KimLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  146. MarkLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  147. JaneLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  148. SamLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  149. IvyLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  150. TeoLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  151. AmyLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  152. BooLOB Tue, 5 Oct 2021

  153. JoeLOB Mon, 4 Oct 2021

  154. AnnaLOB Mon, 4 Oct 2021

  155. ZakLOB Mon, 4 Oct 2021

  156. JackLOB Mon, 4 Oct 2021

  157. LisaLOB Mon, 4 Oct 2021

  158. Ikebwy Mon, 4 Oct 2021

  159. Tcuvgx Sun, 3 Oct 2021

  160. Oastjh Sat, 2 Oct 2021

  161. Suhhqv Tue, 28 Sep 2021

  162. JoeLOB Tue, 28 Sep 2021

  163. Gsnkpj Sun, 26 Sep 2021

  164. Lpbegf Sat, 25 Sep 2021

  165. Wzpgkt Fri, 24 Sep 2021

  166. WimLOB Fri, 24 Sep 2021

  167. Kalutv Thu, 23 Sep 2021

  168. WimLOB Wed, 22 Sep 2021

  169. AnnaLOB Wed, 22 Sep 2021

  170. Niqgen Wed, 22 Sep 2021

  171. Femfyh Mon, 20 Sep 2021

  172. TedLOB Mon, 20 Sep 2021

  173. EvaLOB Sun, 19 Sep 2021

  174. JimLOB Sun, 19 Sep 2021

  175. SamLOB Sat, 18 Sep 2021

  176. Dejtow Sat, 18 Sep 2021

  177. Tvdztf Fri, 17 Sep 2021

  178. Txneqf Wed, 15 Sep 2021

  179. Zihfau Tue, 14 Sep 2021

  180. Urobvq Mon, 13 Sep 2021

  181. Tosnof Sun, 12 Sep 2021

  182. Unpxxk Thu, 9 Sep 2021

  183. Ftxxsb Wed, 8 Sep 2021

  184. Ohmsdo Tue, 7 Sep 2021

  185. Kfiufq Mon, 6 Sep 2021

  186. Xcwrds Sat, 4 Sep 2021

  187. Jxtkej Fri, 3 Sep 2021

  188. Pukcic Thu, 2 Sep 2021

  189. Xqtuka Tue, 31 Aug 2021

  190. Spnrsm Mon, 30 Aug 2021

  191. Hxzemu Sun, 29 Aug 2021

  192. Jktqny Fri, 27 Aug 2021

  193. Eehrap Thu, 26 Aug 2021

  194. Yfjpfu Tue, 24 Aug 2021

  195. Jqpzzf Sun, 22 Aug 2021

  196. Pxtrdf Fri, 20 Aug 2021

  197. Fmmivg Thu, 6 May 2021

  198. ochaud Sun, 12 Apr 2020


Submit a Comment

Please insert the result of the arithmetical operation from the following image:

Please insert the result of the arithmetical operation from this image. =